Dress to Impress

“People will stare. Make it worth their while.”- Harry Winston

50cd5a691d54b9b376c05b77cdc4c4c5.jpg
A closet like this sure would make any girl confident! 

Have you ever noticed that when you make a little extra effort getting ready in the morning, the quality of your day can drastically improve? I know I have. Whether it be making the decision to wear jeans instead of leggings or a sweater instead of a sweatshirt, how I present myself on a daily basis has a major effect on the level of my self-confidence.

This goes for everyone, whether they like to admit it or not. How we dress and look on the outside, in some way or another, has a direct effect on how we feel on the inside. Studies have shown that what clothing we wear has a strong relation to how we approach and interact in our everyday lives.

So in order to feel confident, we need to dress the part right? But how you may ask?  According to Lifehack, here are 6 essential says we can start dressing to improve our confidence:

c87968075b7bf2771c7b16bf9e12fd7f.jpg
It is important for any person to know which colors serve as their strengths and weaknesses.         Source: Pinterest
  1. Find the colors that work for you
  2. Consider your shape and dress in ways that flatter your figure
  3. Play to your strengths and focus in on your features
  4. Know your personal style
  5. Consider the occasion
  6. Know your comfort level

“I say, dress to please yourself. Listen to your inner muse and take a chance. Wear something that says “here I am!” today.”- Iris Apfel

Keep in mind particularly that personal style plays a key role. Dressing for confidence is not just about wearing designer brands or the latest fashion trends, it is about feeling good. Wear what YOU like, not what the latest Vogue issue is telling you to wear or what the other girls who live down the hall are wearing. In the wise words of Blair Waldorf, “Fashion is the most powerful art there is. It’s movement, design, architecture all in one. It shows the world who we are and who we’d like to be.” Wear what you love, whether it be from the latest Chanel collection or the clearance rack in TJ Maxx. If you feel great in it, then the confidence will flow naturally.

“Does this look okay?”

Believe me, I still can be pretty self-conscious when it comes to what I wear. Almost every time I go out, I walk into my best friend’s room and ask, “does this look okay?” and although her answer is almost always “yes,” I just need the reassurance. However I promise you that I have come a long way, and have seen the effect clothing can have on my self-confidence. So before you reach for the classic leggings and a t-shirt, stop. Take the extra 30 minutes in the mooring. I promise you won’t regret it.

This inspirational board has a few looks I would use to dress confidently!

cork board

*All pictures courtesy of Pinterest

Leave a Reply

